Testimonials

Here's what some of our clients and colleagues have had to say about what we do and how we do it (see also comments for individual presentations on those specific pages):

  • American Copy Editors Society Annual Conference 2016: Some of the live Tweets sent out while I was presenting my session on being more efficient with Microsoft Word, from follow-up emails, and from conference feedback:
    • Strengthening my (rather flabby) Microsoft Word chops with Rhonda Bracey
    • Rhonda Bracey is a hoot! Australian jokes and jabs in between expertise. Doing chin-ups on every syllable.
    • Rhonda Bracey: Awesome deep dive into Word in a lovely Aussie accent
    • In her Word efficiency session, @cybertext is doing straight-up MAGIC TRICKS. Whole room keeps oohing and aahing.
    • Over here in the Tips and Tricks in Word room we are all amazed by what you can do with autocorrect!
    • Use Word AutoCorrect to save lots of time and to be consistent with author coments in Track Changes. Collective gasp.
    • Why haven't I tweeted during the last hour? Because session from @cybertext is fantastic. Don't want to miss a microsecond. Great info!
    • Rhonda Bracey's kung fu is the best. Efficiency with Microsoft Word session
    • I thought I knew all the Word shortcuts. This is life-changing!
    • It's Friday, it's 70 degrees and sunny, and I'm learning tips for Microsoft Word... and I'm loving it! Thanks @cybertext!
    • Highlight of the day was either the glorious Microsoft Word hacks from @cybertext or eating lunch in the sunshine.
    • This was such a good session. Great resources.
    • I just learned tons from @cybertext's #ACES2016 session.
    • Thank you again for such an interesting and informative session about Word shortcuts at the ACES conference in Portland. I've customized my quick access toolbar per your excellent recommendation, and I'm getting a new computer and it was so empowering to know that I could save those customizations to transfer to my new machine. Hooray! [...] I'm downloading your slides from your ACES presentation now and will continue to reference your amazing tips. They have already saved me a lot of time, so I wanted you to know how grateful I am to you! (Monica Monzingo, ACES Conference attendee)
    • Along with the Google session, one of the best sessions I attended, for pretty much the same reasons. Also, presenter helped reinforce using shortcuts and not to continue "working stupid" (as I sometimes do). She was also fun.
    • As with Mike Pope's session Thursday, I was stunned by how little I know about all the bells and whistles Word offers.
    • Excellent speaker/presenter with a lot of novel information.
    • Extremely informative. I will use many of these tips in the future.
    • Gleaned some great tips I hope to incorporate into my work.
    • Good presentation; good tips
    • Got kind of technical toward the end, but overall good tips.
    • Great skill-set builder!
    • Great tips! Loved this nuts-and-bolts session.
    • I realized partway into this session that this was too in the weeds for what I use Microsoft Word for, plus the presentation only covered Word for PCs, not Macs, which is what I use. I left early.
    • I wish more would have been provided about using Word with Mac and not just Windows, but I still gained some valuable insight into time-saving techniques
    • Learned some good tips at this one, followed up by visiting her website.
    • My favorite session of the conference! Rhonda is super smart and had a ton of tips to share that I will use in my editing work.
    • Packed with information. Like a 3-hour class compressed into 1 hour.
    • Picked up some good tips, but the detailed info was for Word for PC, not Mac. Should have a Word for Mac session, too.
    • Rhonda Bracey was remarkable. I didn't realize one person could master Word so completely. Not everything applied to how I work, but the components that did have already made a difference for me since I came back to work. This is an essential session for someone working like I do. Thankful she made the trip from Australia.
    • Rhonda did a great job of keeping the session on track and being frank about what she couldn't cover (e.g., Macs)
    • Rhonda is extremely knowledgeable and efficient. Info was a little too much to digest in one session though.
    • So many great tips here, presented clearly and with humor.
    • Speaker was hard to understand
    • The information was excellent, and the speaker really knew her stuff. My only complaint is that between her accent and her quick speaking, I struggled to take in everything she was saying.
    • There was a lot of detailed information, especially for a session without handouts. Yes, the handouts were to be made available later.
    • This session was fabulous. I was expecting to know a decent bit of it, but it really filled in the gaps and introduced whole new tools that I didn't know existed. One of my favorites!
    • This was good. I already knew a lot of what was presented, but Rhonda did a great job answering questions, and I picked up a few new tricks to employ.
    • This was interesting but perhaps would have been better suited to a hands-on or more tailored class rather than a conference session, since not everyone has the same needs from Word AND it is easier to learn when you're actually applying what you're learning. Also, as a Mac user I found it a bit off-putting than Rhonda had no knowledge of how specific commands might differ between PC and Mac.
    • This was more in-depth than I thought it would be. It was probably a great session for those who format documents in Word, but I was looking for general tips and tricks. Guess I should have gone to the other Word session instead!
    • This was one of the best sessions. I wish she could come speak at Vanguard, but I doubt we could get her all the way from Australia.
    • This was probably the most valuable session I attended. If there's another expert who can present a similar session on Word for Mac next year, I'd be delighted.
    • This was truly outstanding. So much useful information.
    • Tons of great info, and she has so many outside resources for later. Very valuable session.
    • Very clear and straightforward presentation. Lots of great tips and tricks. Looking forward to reviewing posted presentation.
    • Would have been a terrific session if only I knew how the tricks applied for Macs! In general though, Rhonda sped through the material in a very useful way and presented solutions that attendees clearly appreciated.
    • Would have loved more time for this session.
    • Wow. This was incredible. Too much info for a short period of time but very useful.
  • I’ve spent $$$ on consultants for this project, and your service was by far one of the best -- in fact, it seems that the quality of the service I received was inversely proportional to the charged fee, which is crazy. I would not be surprised if mine was the only submission checked by a professional editor. Your skills are as rare as hens' teeth, yet so underappreciated. [If my submission wins] you'll definitely be getting a bonus as you're one of my favourite consultants -- I know I can always rely on you. Thanks a bunch for pulling this one off, Rhonda. (J Cowan, Orefind, Perth, December 2015)
  • It is not always easy to get help with in-depth Word problems. I google, I read, I try things, and sometimes I can solve it myself. But sometimes I cannot solve the problem no matter what I do. Well, Rhonda Bracey has the most in-depth knowledge of any Word guru I have ever known. I say: When the going gets really tough, the tough can count on useful support from Rhonda. Thank you, Rhonda! (AJE, Netherlands, August 2013)
  • ASTC(NSW) Conference 2012: I received the feedback for my Editing: It's not as easy as it looks session I presented at the ASCT(NSW) annual conference (Sydney, Australia, November 2012). The comments I received for this session were:
    • A guru for TCers
    • Confirmed I'm doing it right
    • Good presentation
    • Such sound advice, cogently presented.
  • ASTC(NSW) Conference 2012: I received the feedback for my Remote working: Telecommuting from the trenches session I presented at the ASCT(NSW) annual conference (Sydney, Australia, November 2012). The comments I received for this session were:
    • Been doing this for >10 years so didn;t learn a lot. Good value though, Well done!
    • Great info and well presented
    • Excellent! Good style. Handled [person's name] well
    • Would like to see more of Rhonda on another topic
    • Clear presentation. Pros and cons. But win-win.
  • I can't tell you how much I enjoyed your talk. I related to everything you said, and would love to have been able to talk to you at length afterwards about both our experiences. (an in-house business editor who attended the ASTC(NSW) 2012 annual conference)
  • You actually made my dry and boring manuscript sing! I just love it every time you do this and I never get tired of seeing your magic. I feel as though I'm driving around in a cheap rusted out VW, but to everyone else I look like I'm driving a Porsche! Perhaps not the best analogy, but it gives me absolutely no incentive to improve my English skills. ... I can just dump my thoughts and get it polished up by a real professional. It just simply amazes me how you do this in such short time. Thanks again. I REALLY appreciate it. (J Cowan, Prestologic, Perth, March 2011)
  • Rhonda is a powerhouse on many levels; technically she is exceptional. The job we asked her to do was not for the faint hearted; formatting a series of 55 MB+ technical documents written by multiple authors most of whom had introduced errant styles. She has enviable communication skills (leaving no doubt in my mind that she knew exactly what the job entailed and would cover all bases.) And she has a veteran tech editor’s eye for detail with a talent for spotting trouble (and working out a solution) well before it hits; a true lateral thinker. No sooner had she outlined the risks and covered off contingencies, than the job was done and dusted. And an excellent job it was. (Fiona Adolph, Technical Editor (Environment), The Wheatstone Project, Perth, May 2010)
  • THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your enormous contribution to the production of the [Environmental Management Plans], etc. Your commitment, flexibility, excellent technical skills and cool head are very much appreciated. (Dr Julia Martin, Gorgon Environmental Program Team Lead, Chevron Australia; Perth, September 2009)
  • Rhonda recently solved a tricky Word-related problem for us. She worked quickly, thoroughly investigated and explained all the options and kept us updated throughout the whole process. She's an absolute professional and a delight to work with. (Suzanne Cooper, impress: clear communication, Hobart, Tasmania, May, 2009)
  • WritersUA Conference 2009: I received my evaluations for the "Techniques for Reviewing a User Interface" session I presented at the WritersUA annual conference (Seattle, Washington, March 2009). My average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Presentation Skills 4.41
    • Subject Knowledge 4.74
    • Quality of Session Information 4.28
    • Quality of Session Slides/Handouts 4.29

    Some of the written comments for this session:

    • Good infusion of humor, great examples, great sites/sources/resources as take-aways. Thanks!
    • Delightful. Great sense of humor. Great references to accessibility tools. Bracey is a top-quality act.
    • A little too general, but then again, I've had extensive training in the subject. [gave 24 out of a possible 25 points]
    • Excellent. Very helpful. Great take-home resources too.
    • Thanks for the chocolate!
    • A great presentation of the basics... next time add more depth.
    • Too general.
    • Very knowledgable. Light on humor. She handled questions very well.
    • Nice to add 'how to communicate review comments'. Comprehensive -- able to create checklist from presentation. Almost made me want to be a tester. Nicely referenced. Had never heard of screen rulers before -- will definitely use.
    • Great job!
  • WritersUA Conference 2009: I received copies of the evaluations for the "Career Strategies for Embedded UA" panel I was on (with three others) at the annual WritersUA conference (Seattle, Washington, March 2009). The panel's average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Presentation Skills 4.44
    • Subject Knowledge 4.63
    • Quality of Session Information 4.22
    • Quality of Session Slides/Handouts 4.15
  • Rhonda, you have been an invaluable asset to our team and will be sorely missed. Your instant responses to my endless, and sometimes very random, requests have been priceless to me and consequently the rest of our team. You are a walking, talking encyclopedia of technical information and there have been many times when I have wondered what I would do without knowing you were the other end of an email, ready and willing to give me 'top notch' advice. Thanks so much Rhonda. I have no doubt I will continue to consult your expertise well into the future. (Anne Horvath, Communications Consultant, Runge Limited, Brisbane, March 2009)
  • Rhonda, I have thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to work with such a true professional. Your attention to detail, ability to jump in and solve numerous challenges and your provision of support at really tough times is exceptional and I thank you. In working with you I have learned many things and appreciated most your focus and commitment to making us look good internally as well as externally. You have truly been a key member of our team. We will definitely continue to work with you. (Linda Young, Global Communications Manager, Runge Limited, March 2009)
  • A "superwoman" in the world of communication. Rhonda, your knowledge and experience extended beyond that of just a technical writer which meant we were able call on your expertise in many areas of our business. Your willingness to share your knowledge was noticeable in everything you did, and even after your contract ended you still continue to provide support and information about things you think might be useful. You continually produced high quality professional outputs and, with very short notice (sometimes none!), would work overtime to help achieve tight deadlines. And your knowledge of Author-it ensured we got maximum benefit from the product and set the high standard that our clients have come to expect. Rhonda, it was an absolute pleasure to have worked with you. (Melinda King, Team Lead Support and Training, Mining Dynamics, Runge Limited, Brisbane, March 2009)
  • ...a big thanks for your work - you're a great team member, despite us not being able to see you each day! (Emma Samson, Environmental Consultant [Gorgon Project], RPS, March 2009 )
  • ASTC (NSW) Conference 2008: I received a thank you letter and evaluations for the "Techniques for Reviewing a User Interface" session I presented at the ASTC (NSW) Conference (Sydney, Oct/Nov 2008). My average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Relevance: 4.63
    • Depth: 4.69
    • Quality of presentation: 4.63

    Some of the written comments for this session:

    • Best presentation of the conference.
    • I looked forward to this and I wasn't disappointed — a tsunami of valuable information.
    • Terrific.
    • Full of good stuff.
    • Encyclopaedic and authoritative.
    • Excellent.
    • Incredibly useful.
  • Rhonda Bracey was perfect for the last session—her clearly vast experience in reviewing user interfaces combined with her humour and desire for us to know had us ending on a high note. Truck loads of information energetically delivered. Probably the best example of how I would say I wasn't alone in my positive reaction to the conference was glancing around during Rhonda's presentation and seeing a room full of animated faces. (review of session at the ASTC (NSW) Conference, by Gill Knowles; published in the ASTC (NSW) Newsletter, November 2008, p 4)
  • Your presentation ["Techniques for Reviewing a User Interface"] was one of the few that I sat through over the conference — being on the registration desk kept me busy. Although I am a bookkeeper/administrator and not a technical writer, I must say I thoroughly enjoyed your presentation. You are indeed a very dynamic speaker, easy to listen to as well as delivering an enjoyable talk. I quite enjoy having a little giggle during a presentation and your examples of how not to do it — particularly in MYOB — certainly gave me a good laugh as I use this program quite a lot. I feel that I benefited from your presentation as it has made me look at the admin forms I create and how they look and line up, so thank you. (Karen, ASTC (NSW), Sydney, October 2008)
  • Your impact on our professionalism was unmistakable—you helped us move from an idea to a professional outfit. I really appreciate your efforts and the quality of your work. ... Your talent and discipline assures your success. (George McCullough, Implementation Team Lead (Australia), Mining Dynamics, Runge Limited, Brisbane, August 2008)
  • Wow, I can see why you’re the writer and I’m not. I can't believe how fast you were able to turn my words around, how well you edited it to get to the essence of the message, and how you made my clumsy and bloated document into a slick Quick Reference Card. (Steve Dayne, Mining Dynamics Support, Brisbane, July 2008)
  • Your materials on "Training 101: Learn how to train" are some of the most comprehensive and well organised that I've seen in the past twenty years of my training and education management career. For the administration of training these will help novices and long-time professionals remember all of the critical details that make training successful. Much of what you document is taken for granted or assumed, and thus, often times forgotten, leaving the training professional looking and feeling less than professional in their delivery. So, thank you for sharing your knowledge with the rest of the world. (Rick Gilmore, Denver, Colorado, June 2008)
  • AODC Conference 2008: I received my evaluations for the "Techniques for Reviewing a User Interface" session I presented at the AODC annual conference (Surfers Paradise, Queensland, May 2008). My session was ranked third highest overall, and my average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Speaker Skills 4.8
    • Speaker Knowledge 4.7
    • Value of Topic (to attendee) 4.4
    • Extent of (attendee's) Learning 4.0
  • WritersUA Conference 2008: I received my evaluations for the "Techniques for Reviewing a User Interface" session I presented at the WritersUA annual conference (Portland, Oregon, March 2008). My average scores—out of 5—for this session, and my ranking against all 41 speakers over all sessions were:
    • Presentation Skills 4.7; rank: 13th
    • Subject Knowledge 4.8; rank: 10th
    • Quality of Session Information 4.6; rank: 12th
    • Quality of Session Slides/Handouts 4.6; rank: 10th

    Some of the written comments for this session:

    • Great presenter—very well done! A lot of excellent info and resources shared.
    • Great!! Very useful info. Will share with the rest of my team.
    • Very well done and very helpful.
    • Was expecting a bit more depth and more examples. Ended up being a good review.
    • Good references on where to find more information.
    • Excellent! Thank you.
    • Very practical and very useful.
    • Very satisfied with her presentation. Great tips!
    • Directly helpful to upcoming [??].
    • Excellent!
    • Excellent! This information will be so useful! Thanks.
    • Excellent—and chocolate too!
    • Thank you—the resources are very helpful. I've been searching for existing UI Guidelines (style guides) for a while and I appreciate this presentation.
    • Presenter was a good speaker, but level of information was basic [for me]. I would've preferred more specific examples and rules. GUI examples would have been extremely useful—less text, more screen shots. Tools list was very helpful.
    • Information put very nicely.
    • BEST OF SHOW!
    • Really helpful tools and examples.
    • Informative, good presentation flow.
    • Could have shown more examples.
  • Just a quick ‘thanks’ for the excellent session on UI reviewing. This is certainly an issue I plan to address here at [company]. Your insight and obvious experience have inspired me to approach our software R&D director with a plan to increase the value of their already very excellent software apps by following the checklist you suggested and, to help them develop a sound yet simple style guide. (Michael Diederich, San Francisco, March 2008)
  • ... the CIC SIG management team thank you for your incredibly thorough review of the pre-alpha Contractor's Database project. Wow, what a lot of valuable feedback! (STC Consulting and Independent Contracting SIG secretary, February 2008)
  • (In response to receipt of a draft reference manual): Rhonda, this is indeed excellent work. Yet another example of the incredibly high standard of work you produce. Well done and thanks. (George McCullough, Implementation Team Lead (Australia), Mining Dynamics, Runge Limitied, Brisbane)
  • ...I'm moving right along now, and have been able to monitor the user group to find workarounds (Thanks Char, Rhonda, and Sue!!!) to any issues I've encountered. I ... sincerely appreciate all the good support delivered on this forum-it's invaluable! In fact, in the several years I've been using Author-it, I've only needed to contact technical support twice, and both of those turned out to be actual bugs! [Author-it Software Corporation] and its Certified Consultants have done a fantastic job of making this forum a reliable resource for issue resolution and workarounds. ... I again thank Char, Rhonda, and Sue for their tireless support of the Author-it community. These superstars not only help us work through issues we encounter with Author-it, but teach us to think outside the box with reference to Author-it's capabilities and uses. They are all three ingenious and creative, and are invaluable resources for the Author-it community. Thank you all! (Joe Ryan, Phoenix, Arizona, 2007)
  • I’m following your excellent instructions for customising HTML output for Author-it. ...Thanks to your instructions, I now have a fully operational HTML site, and my boss is very impressed! (Nicola Harlow, UK, November 2007)
  • Rhonda, I like your work! I've looked at your document and can really appreciate the effort you've gone to. I can only imagine your frustration. As you point out, there is a lot of inconsistency and poor UI design - and your document only covers "Text and Labels"!!

    I think your matter-of-fact, no-holds-barred, warts-and-all style of constructive criticism is new to the [company] team. I find some of the [development team] are very wary of criticising each others' work.

    Have you been asked to do further in-depth reviews of their applications? In the coming months I'm hoping to change the way they build their applications - it would be good to have your recommendations/guidelines adhered to from the outset. (D.P., Team Architect and Integration Coordinator, Perth, October 2007)

  • I was very pleased with the thoroughness and quality of your editorial feedback. You've really helped to smooth out the multiple origins of the text and tame some of those sentences I just couldn't face again. (Stephanie Bateman-Graham, XempleX, Perth, July 2007)
  • My colleague and I talk about you and Char so much as the gods of Author-it; we refer to your amazing wisdom on the user group every day! (Katy G., Scotland, June 2007)
  • ... thank you so much for what you did with the Tool Tote pattern... I thought what you did with the format was great! I can definitely see where my pattern can be confusing for people to follow, so thank you for making that clearer to me. I thought the suggestion for having a "terms" page was bloody brilliant... I have to wonder why I never came up with such a great idea myself! I also like the way you have listed the general advice section at the start of the pattern. The format in which you have set out the pattern is much more readable and easy to follow than the way I have been setting out my instructions so far. You have done me a HUGE favour and pointed out so much to me and made me realise how confusing I have been writing my patterns for people to follow... I really appreciate all the work, time and effort you put into re-formatting my pattern! (Michelle Pearson, Raggedy Stitches, June 2007)
  • During her 5+ years with BMS Solutions, Rhonda has provided us with efficient and comprehensive technical writing services. Some of her work for BMS included: developed the online help, user manuals, and training manuals for all BMS software applications; developed software animations based on client requirements that were effectively used to demonstrate key functionality within the software; assisted in identifying product improvements that have been incorporated into the software; implemented Author-it as a key tech writing tool; developed and maintained the BMS intranet. I can thoroughly recommend Rhonda's technical writing skills and services to any future client, and would like to thank her for her efforts over the years and wish her all the best in her future endeavours. (David Irvine, Software Development Manager, BMS Solutions, June 2007)
  • I've really enjoyed working with you for the last 4 years-—I'm going to miss not having you around. As far as your work goes, I have nothing but good things to say. Your approach is thorough; you have an ordered and logical approach to a task; and your feedback is well-researched, relevant, and valuable. Most valuable, I think, is your attention to usability issues. You were solely responsible for keeping track of the myriad of changes that needed documenting, and you made up for poor process by keeping your eagle eye out all the time for inconsistencies, bugs, and poor implementation. Lots of well-received upwards management went on, ensuring that tasks that you could see were falling by the wayside, didn't get forgotten. Your working style is friendly, efficient, and thorough, thorough, thorough! I hope that you have fun and success in your future endeavours. (Tara Minchin, Software Project Manager, BMS Solutions, June 2007)
  • I think you're one of the best in your field. It's been really great working with you. (C.T. [Programmer], Perth, June 2007)
  • Rhonda, your newsletters are the best. Thank you!!! (Kris Westrum, Metafile Information Systems, Inc., Rochester, Minnesota, June 2007)
  • I've worked with Rhonda for some 5 and a half years, and have always been impressed with her professionalism, work ethic, attention to detail, and her ability to 'get things done' on time and on budget. I'd be more than happy to engage her services for any future employer I may work for and would highly recommend her. (M.O. [Manager], Perth, May 2007)
  • Thank you a million times for your tip about fixing PDFMaker! I've been tearing my hair out on this one for awhile. Now that I've cleared that pesky checkbox, I'm creating PDFs again. Thanks again! (Steven Kan, Pulse Research Lab, Torrnace, California, April 2007)
  • Thanks for your [Author-it] help! I had the entire document suite [working] correctly in fifteen minutes ... after you gave me the clue... I have spent the last three weeks trying to fix the problem in the Word template... I owe you big time! (Damian Forlani-Brennan, Perth, March 2007)
  • I'm a lurker in the AIT (Author-it) Yahoo Group and I've appreciated so many of your responses... Thanks again for all of your contributions to my understanding of AIT. It's a tough world for lone writers as you well understand, and the community lifeline support is invaluable. (Charlene Kingston, Crow Information Design, Phoenix, Arizona, March 2007)
  • ... I think [this section] is very well done. It is quite a complex area and the manual guides you through the process very easily. I was having a bit of trouble understanding the process but after going through the section in the manual, I have a better understanding of the process. (M.R., Perth, March 2007)
  • Thanks again for your newsletter. I can honestly say that this is truly the only useful newsletter that I actually subscribe to as I always learn a few new things from each issue. It is so good I want to revamp the [company name] newsletters to emulate your newsletters. (J. Cowan, Perth, Dec 2006)
  • ASTC (NSW) Conference 2006: I received a thank you letter and evaluations for the "Reviewing Screen-based Content" session I presented at the ASTC (NSW) Conference (Sydney, Oct 2006). My average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Relevance: 4.69
    • Depth: 4.74
    • Quality of presentation: 4.72
  • Thank you so much for this information and for the presentations [Customizing HTML Outputs from Author-it]. They were very helpful! Thanks to you, everything is up and running perfectly! ... I'd be happy to recommend you and sing your praises—the information you distribute on the list is really helpful and you are obviously THE expert in Author-it. (R. Karlin, PortAuthority Technologies, Israel, Oct 2006)
  • Rhonda Bracey in Australia ... is probably one of the best (if not the best) persons on the planet to talk about [Author-it's] abilities. (Grant Hogarth, Sept 2006)
  • WritersUA Conference 2006: I received my evaluations for the "Customizing HTML Outputs from Author-it" session I presented at the WritersUA annual conference (Palm Springs, California, April 2006). My average scores—out of 5—for this session, and my ranking against all speakers over all sessions were:
    • Presentation Skills 4.64; rank: 14th
    • Subject Knowledge 4.95; rank: 4th
    • Quality of Session Information 4.77; rank: 5th
    • Quality of Session Slides/Handouts 4.55; rank: 12th
  • I just wanted to let you know that I have been going through the (user) manual for the latest (software) version and have found them extremely helpful... So manuals do get used!!!!! It has really saved me asking 101 questions as I have been able to find the answers through them. (P.Y., Perth, July 2006)
  • ... I want to thank for sharing the your handout from the conference. I've been working through the first two sections. ... I've also been using the first part of the presentation to troubleshoot customized book templates and related files that were causing me problems in the past. I was able to clean up some things. This first section was a godsend! I've talked to our vendor on several occasions asking him if he had or knew of anyone who had a roadmap to customizing HTML templates/pages. And nothing until your link popped into my inbox. Thanks you so much for sharing your information!! (M. Moreno, July 2006)
  • I have finally gotten around to implementing the suggestions in Rhonda Bracey's excellent handout from the [WritersUA] conference; it's like it was written for what I'm tasked with doing. Thank You Rhonda!.... The work you and Char contribute to the forums is amazing and appreciated. I know I have found the answer to many of my questions through your posts. (S.Hutchings, i.s. edge [June 2006])
  • AODC Conference 2006: I received my evaluations for the "Reviewing Screen-based Content" session I presented at the AODC annual conference (Cairns, May 2006). My average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Speaker Skills 4.8
    • Speaker Knowledge 4.8
    • Quality of Content 4.8
    • Delegate interest in topic 4.7

    Some of the written comments for this session: "Wonderful", "I hadn't thought I was interested, but it had heaps of useful info, so I'm glad I didn't choose this session for a break", "Spoke a bit fast. Great content", "A great coverage of a lot of useful tools", "A lot of content in time, but wouldn't want it longer", "Great practical session", "Would have liked more demo stuff", "Very useful review and tools", "Great session. Not teaching us to suck eggs. Useful resources."

    By the way, this session was the 3rd highest ranked for the entire conference.

  • Love your Newsletter, Rhonda — crisp, clean and a good read! (Rhonda Sclanders, Forms at Work [June 2006])
  • Thanks for a great session on customizing Author-it’s HTML output—it was one of the most useful conference sessions I've ever attended. (Debi Lane [April 2006])
  • In response to the 2005 survey of Australian technical communicators: "... that was a magnificent effort! ...Thanks once again for your time in putting the survey together. It is very much appreciated." (Janet Taylor [November 2005])
  • WritersUA Conference 2005: I received my evaluations for the session I presented at the WritersUA 13th annual conference (Las Vegas, March 2005). My average scores—out of 5—for this session were:
    • Presentation Skills 4.75
    • Subject Knowledge 4.75
    • Quality of Session Information 4.75
    • Quality of Slides/Handouts 4.67.
  • Thanks, Rhonda, for last night. Your presentation was exceptional and very much appreciated by all who attended... I have already received one email full of praise for your presentation and the conversation over a glass of wine before we slouched off into the night was absolutely positive and deeply sincere. (Betty Durston, President, Society of Editors (WA), Inc., Perth [Sept 2005])
  • Many thanks to those who attended last night's meeting—it was a great success. A huge thanks to our presenter, Rhonda Bracey, for her well-prepared, thorough and engaging presentation. (Chris Walker, Society of Editors (WA) Inc., Perth [Sept 2005])
  • ...it has to be one of the best help files I have worked with. It is clear and concise, the prolific links mean I never have to search. The layout is neat and uncluttered—I am very impressed. (Russell Williams [Jan 2005])
  • STC Conference 2004: Comments on evaluation forms from "Author-it Tips and Tricks" session co-presented with Char James-Tanny, at STC's 51st Annual Conference Baltimore 2004. Rhonda Bracey's average scores for this session: Content 4.77, Delivery 4.68 (maximum 5.0); in the top 10% of all 363 conference speakers.
    • Very good intro; good technical tips; excellent demo! good publishing example.
    • Excellent tool! Thank you!
    • Good job - wish it were longer so you could spend more time on each topic.
    • Super information; great speakers.
    • This was very informative!
    • EXCELLENT! Thank you.
    • This made the conference for me.
    • Entertaining and useful.
    • Good stuff - a little rushed.
    • Excellent - thank you both!
    • Excellent presentation! Thank you.
    • Useful tips and tricks of Author-it. Contains information that we can use immediately. I enjoyed Rhonda and Char's conversational tone and sense of humor.
    • Excellent presentation—definitely not for beginners.
  • I absolutely love your work! You've done such a sensational job. To be honest, it [the user guide] nearly brought me to tears—that's how happy I was. (Harry Bozin, Mortgage Free Australia [Sept 2004])
  • I really enjoyed your latest newsletter [Sept 2004]. I always find something of use in it. Recently my work computer was upgraded to Windows XP, so I am now solving a whole new set of unfamiliar problems and getting rid of the little doggy was one. (Lou Martindale, Florida [Sept 2004])
  • I am a member of STC and belong to several listservs on which I have seen many of your ever helpful posts... We have a pretty thorough training manual for both students and instructors and are working on some final touches for a ... Certified Trainer program. ...we wanted to add some "how to train" information in the instructor version of our manual for added reference. ... I recently came across your ... Conference presentation "Training 101: Logistics for Delivering Face-to-Face Instruction." I was extremely impressed with how well written it is and it hits the primary items we want to mention in our guide. Would you be willing to allow us to put this document in our instructor guides? (Jeanette Thomas, Aventail Corporation [June 2004])
  • Thanks for the copies of the CyberText Newsletter - they are both useful and interesting. I am still using the shortcut you gave me to update all fields in Word via three easy moves. (Richard Edge, Leading Edge Solutions [June 2004])
  • I've just started looking at the new manual for Net Designer for 4.9.3 – am MUCH impressed! There's heaps more stuff in there for me to use as a configurer - best practice, recommendations, better examples! Love it. Thanks :O) (Erin Faehrmann, SA Water Corporation [March 2004])
  • Congratulations on your award for your Survey Author HTML Help. I had a quick look at it and was very impressed! (Ilana Cohney [Jan 2004])
  • I just thought I'd pass on some compliments the developers here at ChevronTexaco made about the improvements in the documentation and context sensitive help since the 4.5 version we were previously using. It's not often any of us get positive feedback so I thought you might appreciate hearing about your work being appreciated. (Professional Services team member, BMS [December 2003])

    Follow-up comments from the owners of BMS: "Thanks Rhonda, well done, its nice to see that people appreciate the effort." and "Thanks Rhonda. We do appreciate the thought. Of course we also appreciate the efforts in getting the documentation to where it is now and it sounds like the results are starting to hit home. Well done!"

  • I'm sure you'll all join me in applauding Rhonda's work to date on the website creation; she's been a great asset to the project in this respect and also with the computer manual. (Conroy Whitebrook, Project Leader, SIDE/SOTA Satellite Solution, Department of Education and Training [August 2003])
  • ... read the newsletter with great interest. And then I found myself reading all the other newsletters. You do a fantastic job! Beautiful, clear, and really neat little nuggets of information. I love it. Thanks for providing these wonderful sources of information. Your site really serves the customer and casual information-seeker rather than hyping the company, and I really like that. I just wanted to say that the newsletters are great, and thank you. (S.Godfrey, Technical Writer, California [March 2003])
  • I [received] the proceedings with your materials and reading through them once again, I believe that yours is such a fabulous resource--extremely comprehensive as well as sound. ...I want to say that I adored your [Training 101] presentation. It was absolutely fantastic. You provided specific, practical tools (i.e., the checklist of what to do before class) and strategies (use a toy to indicate that student has finished the exercise) that you have developed, used, and perfected from real life experiences; in addition, the presentation and materials were extremely clear, easy to understand, and organized. I strongly believe that trainers the world over, whether beginning or advanced would benefit from your "Tool Kit," because it is (1) Effective and (2) Comprehensive. (David Williams, Computer Applications Specialist: Access Services, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN)
  • I haven't had a chance yet to look through your work [Training 101], but it looks terrific, as does your site—it's nice, clean, easy to navigate, easy to understand, no dancing clowns or flashing text, no useless "look at what I can do with javascript" tricks. I think it is a great indicator of the high quality of your work. (Patrick Brunson, Compuware)
  • Our very own Rhonda Bracey gave an excellent presentation at this year's STC conference on how to conduct training/giving presentations. She had some good ideas that I hadn't thought of, and I've been giving presentations for the past 4 years or so. (Matt Galloway, Decagon; posted to Lone Writers discussion list, June 2002)
  • I attended the STC conference but didn't get a chance to attend your Training 101 sessions. However, I downloaded the material from the STC website and I found it so helpful! I used to do training in the past and plan to do a lot this year, and I found your PowerPoint presentation and checklists to be great reminders... I'm sorry I missed your presentation now! (Christina Dunn, IT&S Customer Communication, HCA - Information Technology & Services)
  • Thank you for your quick turn-around on the Manual and the quick start guide... Your work looks excellent and I am very happy with the outcome. (Cedric Celestine, General Manager, Winthrop Australia)
  • Many thanks ... for making the joint WIP/SOEWA function on Tuesday night such an outstanding success. I'm certain that everyone who attended gained much from your experience and insights, especially as the various presentations came from different perspectives and offered a range of ideas for people to think about. We sincerely appreciate your valuable contribution. (Committee Members, Women in Publishing (WA), and Society of Editors (WA))
  • Thanks Rhonda, we have benefited significantly from your presence and input to the project. (Colin Campbell, Maintenance Management Project, Woodside Energy Limited)
  • Check out our new Lone Writer website design [Ed.: now archived, 2006]. Rhonda Bracey has graciously stepped up to manage the website. Thanks Rhonda and a great job on the new design! (Shari Scott Gray, Lone Writer SIG Manager)
  • Reader Postcard from Rhonda Bracey, complete with photos, about her job on a mining site.... An absolute joy to read. ... I really, really enjoyed this piece. Your descriptive writing was so strong that even without your photos I could almost visualize what you see each day. This is an eloquently written diary entry that neatly summarizes your apprehensions before the assignment, your reflective gratitude as you approach the end of the contract, the unexpected side benefits of the work itself as well as what many would consider unacceptably long commutes. (Whitney Potsus, Editor, Solitary Scrivener)
  • I don't know how much feedback you get from people, we/they're all busy in our own worlds, and I often think of you as being very deliberate and professional. Working to an ever-changing brief... I just want to let you know you're doing a great job... It looks really professional...and I have every confidence that you'll leave behind a really useful piece of reference material.... Anyway again thanks for your contribution... If the environment here supported the need for a full-time documentation person, I (and several others here) would pick you! (Nic Beames, Director of Content, Dynamic Digital Depth)
  • Nic was showing me some of the stuff you have been doing lately and I am very pleased. Your work is adding a real professionalism to DDD." (Matthew Seeber, General Manager Australia, Dynamic Digital Depth)
  • ...you certainly have the [editing] job with us for all of our major publications ... I did not know that anyone was as pedantic as me! (Kristen McPhail, Norgard Clohessy Equity Limited)
  • ...I wanted to thank you for all your help in making sense of my documents and dictation. It was a pleasure working with you... (Gary Arter, Systems Engineer, WMC Resources Ltd)
  • You've been amazing." (Raelene Scanlon, WMC Resources Ltd)
  • Thank you so much for the work you did on the EnjoySAP project. Your speed and excellent work standard was greatly appreciated. (Sue-Anne Adair, WMC Resources Ltd)
  • I cited your web page on that lecture page … I needed something I could use as an example that day of interactive interfaces (or at least, dynamic interfaces)… And, yes, I am impressed with your technical skills, as were my students. (Professor Thomas T. Barker, Department of English, Technical Communication Program, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas; author of Writing Software Documentation: A Task-Oriented Approach)
  • As a former writer for the SS [Solitary Scrivener], I would say that the lion's share of the credit for the quality of the journal belongs to Rhonda and Whitney (with a significant tip o' the hat to Shari). These people do a fantastic job of making the writers (at least me) look like they know what they are talking about, transmuting incoherent mutterings into polished prose on the page... I commend them to you as experts in their fields, and encourage every member of the SIG to think about sending work their way." (Grant Hogarth)